Hyde Collection in Glens Falls, New York, will be the site of an unusual major art exhibition beginning this June. The collection has received a $200,000 grant from the Henry Luce Foundation, with additional support from the Charles R. Wood Foundation and other sources, to mount the first exhibition of Georgia O’Keeffe’s work created during the summer of 1918 and then continued into the mid-1930’s. The aim of the project, undertaken in association with the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum in Santa Fe, is to explore and showcase O’Keeffe’s works created during her stays at Alfred Stieglitz’s family estate in the Adirondacks, near Lake George. There will be some 60 works on display, and an accompanying catalog, Modern Nature: Georgia O’Keeffe and Lake George, will be available.
Stieglitz’s photography from this period has long been recognized for its impact on photography as a whole, and for its exhaustive documentation of time and place. Erin B. Coe, chief curator for the Hyde Collection, stated that the time spent at Lake George was just as significant for O’Keeffe’s modern approach to the natural world. The 60 works by O’Keeffe have been drawn from public and private collections.
Modern Nature: Georgia O’Keeffe and Lake George is the Hyde Collection’s first nationally touring exhibition. It will open in Glens Falls in the Hyde Collection’s Wood Gallery on June 15 and remain until September 15. From October 4 to January 26, 2014, it will be on view at the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Then it will travel to the de Young Museum in San Francisco, where it will be from February 8 to May 11, 2014.
The Hyde Collection was founded by Charlotte Pruyn Hyde, who established a trust in 1952 that dedicated her home and her extensive art collection to the Glens Falls community. Between 1904 and 1912, Charlotte Hyde and her sisters, Nell Cunningham and Mary Eliza Hoopes, built adjoining revival-style homes on the bluffs overlooking the Hudson River and the family mill. Boston architect Henry Forbes Bigelow of Bigelow and Wads-worth designed the houses, creating the seven-acre family estate that later became the Hyde Collection. In 2004, the Hyde constructed a 6600-square-foot collections wing and restored the exterior and interior of Hyde House to its historic period.
The Hyde Collection is situated at 161 Warren Street, Glens Falls, New York. The phone number is (518) 792-1761; Web site (www.hydecollection.org).
Originally published in the April 2013 issue of Maine Antique Digest. © 2013 Maine Antique Digest